• TxA23_BoardIntros3

January 1 ushered in the new TxA Board of Directors. Among them are four vice presidents, who serve two-year terms:

Catherine Callaway, AIA, joins the Board as Vice President of Advocacy. Callaway is an associate vice president and the director of Sustainability and Building Performance at Kirksey. She is deeply involved in green building advocacy in the region and has led committees with the AIA, Texas Society of Architects, Rice Design Alliance, and the City of Houston Green Building Resource Center.

Darren Heine, AIA, returns as Vice President of Communications. As president of BBA Architects, Heine is responsible for all aspects of a project including the initial design concept, programming, technical detailing, and project management. Always passionate about his profession and its values to society, Heine shares his knowledge and wisdom through mentoring young architect-hopefuls in their early architecture careers and in serving on municipal boards and committees.

Sergio Lainez, AIA, joins the Board as Vice President of Professional Development. He is principal and founder of Lainez Architects. He has served on multiple TxA committees, including Community Engaged Design and EDI, and locally led AIA LRGV as President in 2018 and Chapter Director for 2019-2020.

Qeturah Williams, AIA, returns as the Vice President of Practice and Recognition. A principal and senior project manager with DLR Group, Williams is active in AIA Houston’s Women in Architecture program. On the state level, she has served on TxA’s Education Outreach Committee and the Conference Continuing Education Committee.

Leave a Comment