The Dallas Museum of Art, designed by Edward Larrabee Barnes, has been named the Texas Society of Architects’ 25-Year Award recipient for 2020. This award recognizes a building completed 25 to 50 years earlier that has stood the test of time by retaining its central form, character, and overall architectural integrity.

Located at 1717 N. Harwood Street in Dallas, the museum was built in three phases. The first phase was finished in 1983, with Pratt, Box & Henderson serving as associate architect. The second phase, known as the Reves Wing Addition, was completed in 1985, also with PBH. The third phase, the Hamon Wing Addition, was completed in 1993 with associate architect Thomas & Booziotis.

The basic structure of the museum is a rectilinear assemblage of low blocks of galleries and service spaces interspersed with courtyards noted for their elegance and simplicity. An iconic barrel vault serves as the ceremonial entrance to the museum and as a distinctive space for large-scale exhibits, and all forms are unified by the use of Indiana limestone on the exterior and interior.

The Dallas Museum of Art was the first component of the Dallas Arts District to be constructed. Upon its opening, the project was featured in many regional and national publications, including Progressive Architecture, Architecture magazine, Texas Architect, and The New York Times. It went on to serve as the catalyst for numerous public and private facilities in the area, setting a quality standard for the entire district.

Leave a Comment