The Texas Society of Architects announced its 2023 Honor Awards in July. These awards recognize exceptional members, firms, individuals, and organizations for outstanding achievements in support of the profession of architecture, the built environment, and quality of life in Texas. Recipients will be recognized at the Society’s 84th Annual Conference and Design Expo happening in Fort Worth on November 2–4.

Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA
Jeff Potter, FAIA

Jeff Potter, FAIA, is founding principal and vice president of POTTER in Dallas. Throughout his 42-year career, Potter has contributed to the future of the profession through leadership at all levels of the AIA. His service with the Texas Society of Architects began in 1994 as a member of the Publications Committee and culminated with his elevation to president in 2004. In 2006, he joined the AIA national board of directors, where he focused on developing a strategic communications initiative — work he continued into his role as the 88th president of AIA in 2012. As AIA president, Potter led the initiative to re-position the Institute to better communicate the value of architecture and its benefit to society, which gave rise to a new and bold communications strategy for the organization. After his presidency, he joined the Architects Foundation Board of Directors, leading it as president for two terms and securing its Diversity Advancement Scholarships program.

– photo by Christina Childress Photography

Architecture Firm Award
Malone Maxwell Dennehy Architects

Founded in 1992 as Michael Malone Architects, MMDA has championed the role of architects in society for more than 30 years. Each of its principals — Michael Malone, FAIA, Audrey Maxwell, AIA, and Paul Dennehy, FAIA — has served as president of the Texas Society of Architects. They have also established a long record of service in the AIA, encouraging their firm members to do the same, and served as leaders in their community, bringing their skills as architects to the forefront of their engagement with local organizations. In addition to MMDA’s commendable record of service, the firm is also creating beautiful, thoughtful work at a variety of scales. Their designs are known for being rigorous, well organized, and environmentally suited to their sites. Notable projects include the Sumner Bohannon House and Highland Capital Management in Dallas; Lockheed Martin in Fort Worth; and a design for Discovery Channel stores replicated nationwide.

– photo by Edgar de la Garza, courtesy Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Cornerstone Award
Dr. Robert R. Furgason
Corpus Christi

Dr. Robert R. Furgason served as president of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi from 1990 to 2004, guiding the school through a pivotal time in its history. His vision for a leading university led to significant increases in student enrollment and $250 million in funding for numerous capital improvement and development projects. During his tenure, numerous projects were completed that elevated the level of design on campus, including the University Classroom Center, University Student Union Building, Performing Arts Center, Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies, and Art Museum of South Texas addition. Furgason also focused on creating and developing research programs exclusive to the coastal environment and leading-edge technology. Those programs work to enhance the quality of life for the Coastal Bend and promote Corpus Christi as a center for research. Following his time as TAMU-CC president, Furgason served as the first director of the Harte Research Institute.

– photo by Billy Calzada, San Antonio Express-News

O’Neil Ford Medal for Design Achievement
Carolyn Peterson, FAIA
San Antonio

Carolyn Peterson, FAIA, is principal emeritus of Ford, Powell & Carson and has been a driving force for preservation of historic architecture in Texas for more than 50 years. She joined the firm now known as FPC in 1964 and became partner in 1979. Beginning with a project for Mission San Juan Capistrano in 1966, she has worked for decades preserving and restoring the Spanish missions in San Antonio. She has also led the restoration of the Texas State Capitol, several county courthouses, the Governor’s Mansion, and buildings in Galveston’s Strand Historic District. The selection committee noted that Peterson’s work “engages the eye and mind, consistently advances the art and tectonics of architecture, is considerate of the environment and society, and serves as a source of inspiration for other architects,” and that it serves as a reminder of the profession’s collective responsibility for creating thoughtful, enduring architecture.

Award for Community Service in Honor of James D. Pfluger, FAIA
Darren L. James, FAIA, NOMA
President and Equity Partner, KAI Enterprises

Award for Equitable Practice in Architecture in Honor of John S. Chase Jr., FAIA
Donna Carter, FAIA, NOMA
President, Carter Design Associates

Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec, FAIA
Rebecca Boles, AIA
Former Professor of Practice and Assistant Dean, College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs, University of Texas at Arlington

Award for Early Career Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill, FAIA
Adrianna Swindle, AIA
Partner, Lake|Flato Architects
San Antonio

Associate Member of the Year
Stephanie Aranda, Assoc. AIA
Designer, GNA Architecture
San Antonio

Associate Member of the Year
Katie Hitt, Assoc. AIA
Managing Director, Dallas Architecture and Design Exchange

Mentorship Award
AIA Dallas Emerging Professionals Success Teams
Program focused on increasing licensure by providing support and resources for individuals preparing for the ARE

– photo by Jason Risner

Artisan Award
Robert Diaz de Leon
San Antonio
Master blacksmith whose contributions to San Antonio include metalwork for The Pearl and Hotel Emma

Citation of Honor
University of Texas at Arlington College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs Design Build Studio

Program that gives students full-scale design and construction opportunities while working with community partners in North Texas

Citation of Honor
Transform 1012
Fort Worth
Initiative to transform a surviving 1924 Ku Klux Klan auditorium in Fort Worth into the Fred Rouse Center for Arts and Community Healing

Honorary Membership
Nate Eudaly
Executive Director, Dallas Architecture Forum

Leave a Comment