At the Summer Board Meeting in July, the TxA Board accepted the 2023 Slate of Officers as presented by the Nominating Committee. The next step in the process is the official vote by our members at the Annual Business Meeting, which will be held at the 83rd Annual Conference & Design Expo in El Paso on Thursday, October 27.

Learn more about the 2023 Slate of Officers below.

Nicki Marrone, AIA | President | San Antonio*

Principal | Alamo Architects, San Antonio

Derwin Broughton, AIA | President-Elect | Dallas

Principal | KAI Design, Dallas

Steve Wood, AIA | Secretary | Wichita Falls

Vice President & Principal | BYSP Architects, Wichita Falls

Eric Brooks, AIA | Treasurer | Fort Worth*

Senior Project Architect | BOKA Powell, Fort Worth

Catherine Callaway, AIA | VP Advocacy | Houston

Associate Vice President & Director of Sustainability | Kirksey, Houston

Darren Heine, AIA | VP Communications | Brazos*

President | BBA Architects, Brenham

Qeturah Williams, AIA | VP Practice & Recognition | Houston*

Principal & Senior Project Manager | DLR Group, Houston

Sergio Lainez, AIA | VP Professional Development | Lower Rio Grande Valley

Principal & Founder | Lainez Architects, LRGV

Leslie Tijerina, Assoc. AIA | State Associate Representative | Brazos

Project Coordinator | BRW Architects, College Station

Nestor Camacho, AIA | Associate Director | Lower Rio Grande Valley*

Project Manager | PBK Architects, McAllen

Samantha Markham, AIA | Young Architect Representative | Dallas*

Senior Associate & Project Architect | Stantec, Dallas

Hazem Rashed-Ali, Assoc. AIA | Educator Member | Lubbock

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Research and Innovation | College of Architecture, Texas Tech University

Christine Freundl | Public Member | Austin

Redevelopment Project Manager  | City of Austin, Economic Development Department

Victoria Carpenter Holmes, AIA | AIA Strategic Council | Austin*

Project Manager | Cuppett Kilpatrick, Austin

Brien Graham, AIA | AIA Strategic Council | Dallas

Project Manager| LPA, Dallas

*Approved at the 2021 TxA Annual Business Meeting for a two-year term.


Author’s gravatar

How is it that our most experienced and accomplished members, Members of the College of Fellows, are not represented on the TxA board? There are two Associate Members and one non-architect public member, but no Fellows. The Nominating Committee should include efforts to recruit, if necessary, at least one Fellow for every slate submitted to help balance an executive committee that seems heavily weighted to mid-to-early career membership. Senior leadership within the profession seems not to be included here.


Leave a Comment