• TxA19_blog_Hero_VPs[1] copy

January 1 ushered in the new TxA Board of Directors. Among them are four vice presidents:

Mike Allex, AIA, is VP of Professional Development. Allex is a principal of Rike Ogden Figueroa Allex Architects in Harlingen and a past president of the AIA Lower Rio Grande Valley. He has also served as treasurer of the Harlingen Chamber of Commerce V.I.P. Club and District Commissioner for the Boy Scouts of America.

Zaida Basora, FAIA, is VP of Advocacy. A vice president at Huitt-Zollars in Dallas, Basora is a sustainability advocate with over 30 years of experience in public policy, planning, and design. She has served as vice chair of the AIA Dallas Codes and Standards Committee and on TxA’s Sustainability Committee.

Andrew Hawkins, AIA, joins us as VP of Communications. He is the president and principal architect of Hawkins Architecture in College Station and the author of a series on the AIA National website focused on mobile applications. He has served continuously on various TxA committees since 2008 and was the 2014 president of AIA Brazos.

Nicki Marrone, AIA, is the new VP of Practice & Recognition. A senior associate with Alamo Architects, Marrone is a member of AIA San Antonio. Notably, she has served as chair of the local chapter’s Committee on the Environment, as professional affairs commissioner for the AIA Board of Directors, and as the immediate past chair of TxA’s EDI Task Force.

Leave a Comment