The three  jurors for this year’s TxA Design Awards are Marcio Kogan, Hon. FAIA, David Miller, FAIA, and Julie Snow, FAIA. As a reminder, entries are due April 4.


Marcio Kogan is the founding architect at studio mk27. He was born in the chaotic city of São Paulo and graduated from FAU-Mackenzie in 1976. He is a guest professor at the Politecnico di Milano and Escola da Cidade, where he recently concluded his Masters in Education, Society and Culture. He worked as a movie director until shooting his first feature in 1988 and then, bankrupt, had to content himself with being an architect. He is the author of all the projects of studio mk27 and is an honorary member of both the AIA and the council of the Museum Of Art of São Paulo.

David Miller is a founding partner of Seattle’s Miller Hull. He is known nationally for pursuing innovative sustainable and high-performance design strategies while responding to each site’s unique conditions and surrounding context. Miller is the former chair of the department of architecture and currently a tenured professor of architecture at the University of Washington. In 2006, Miller received three unique awards: the Washington State University Alumni Achievement Award, the Seattle AIA Gold Medal, and the AIA Pacific Region Medal of Honor for Lifetime Achievement, recognizing him as an architect whose career has made a significantly positive contribution to the built environment. Recent projects of note include: the Pike Place Market Waterfront Entry in Seattle, the Renton Library for King County, and the design of the new American Embassy in Guatemala.

Julie Snow leads a studio-based practice in Minneapolis. The studio’s interest in pragmatic and critical programmatic reflection results in innovative designs that expand our understanding of architectural performance. Design strategies engage issues of how architecture performs within each project’s social, cultural and economic context. The practice has been recognized with numerous awards including the AIA Honor Award. The work of the studio was exhibited at the Chicago Architectural Foundation. Snow has been a visiting professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, USC, and Washington University in St. Louis; she has also taught at the University of Minnesota College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. In 2005, Princeton Architectural Press published the first monograph on the studio’s work in its series on emerging designers from around the world. In 2011, she was awarded the Architecture Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

The jury will convene in Austin in May to deliberate. We look forward to receiving your entries.

Leave a Comment